The Trinity, and the Holy Spirit

Posted: February 23, 2012 in Harvest Youth

What is the Trinity, and how does the Holy Spirit work.

First off, you have to understand that we serve and worship one God. We pray to one God. There are not multiple gods and goddesses, there is only one. Muslims say that we pray to three gods, and that Allah is the one and only true god, but that is not true. Muslims say that Jesus is just a man, but that cannot be true as you will see. Allah does not even exist, as you will also see shortly.

Last week we talked about the Bible being the perfect word of God. If it is perfect, then we cannot ignore what God said. God cannot tell a lie, nor would he tell a lie to the people that love Him, and the people He loves.

Isaiah 43:11 HCSB
I am Yahweh, and there is no other savior but me. (Jesus is God)

Isaiah 44:6b HCSB
I am the first and I am the last. There is no God but me. (There is no Allah)

So before I go any further, I want to tell you that we serve one God.

God is one, but he exists in three. The Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. This is called the Trinity.

Before I expound on the Trinity, I want you to understand that you want there to be a trinity in the first place for several reasons.

1) A created being would be a lesser god.
I don’t want to pray to some god who was made out of something, I want to pray to a God who has always existed, and Jesus is that God. (1 John 1)
2) If God is only one being, then when Jesus came to earth, how could He be in all places all the time?
How could God never leave us or forsake us if He is walking the beach of Nazareth? He cannot be in all places if he is on the earth as a human? God the Father was still in Heaven when God the Son was here on earth.
3) The members of the trinity all play different roles in the life of the believer.
The son paid the price for our sins on the cross, the Holy Spirit dwells within us, the Father is our spiritual father who loves us. It doesn’t matter if your earthly father does not love you, your heavenly father does love you.

The Father, Son and Holy Spirit are equal in nature, yet they are submissive in duties.

The Father sent the Son to the world to die on the cross, the Son sent the Holy Spirit to be with us as our comforter.

I’ll show you how connected these three are.

1 John 5:7 KJV
there are three that bear record in heaven, the Father, the Word, and the Holy Ghost: and these three are one.

These three are one. How great and mysterious is that. I’ll give you an example.

I used to be a kickboxer, and a personal trainer. I also went to church.

When I went to church, I did not wear my personal trainer outfit.

When I went to train, I did not wear my church clothes.

When I went to kick box or spare, I wore a mouthpiece, a helmet, a cup, ext.

I never wore my mouthpiece to church, or to train.

I was never pretending anything; I really was a kick boxer, I really was a fitness trainer and I really went to church.

These three persons of the trinity have different functions, but they all have the same will and the same power. They are all equal, they just do different things.

1 John 2:23 HCSB
No one who denies the Son can have the Father; he who confesses the Son has the Father as well.

1 Cor 12:3b HCSB
no one can say, “Jesus is Lord,” except by the Holy Spirit.

So you need the Holy Spirit to say that Jesus is Lord, and if you say that Jesus is Lord, you have the Father.

Do you see now, that you already have the Holy Spirit? If you did not have the Holy Spirit you would not have confessed that Jesus is Lord.

Ladies and gentlemen, I want you to understand this. You already have the Holy Spirit if you have confessed that Jesus is the Son of God.

You already are linked with the power that raised Jesus from the dead! It lives in you! That is exciting!!!

Here is Max Lucado explaining the Holy Spirit in his book Max on Life.
Max, “The Holy Spirit is not an it. He is a person. He has knowledge (1 Cor 2:11). He has a will (1 Cor 12:11). He has a mind (Rom 8:27). He has affections (Rom 15:30). You can Lie to Him (Acts 5:3-4). You can insult Him (Heb 10:29). You can grieve Him (Eph 4:30).
The Holy Spirit is invisible to the human eye. But that doesn’t mean His work is unseen or unfelt.
He comforts the saved (John 16:7). He convicts the lost (John 16:8). He conveys the truth (John 16:12-13). Have you ever been comforted? Have you ever been convicted? Have you ever felt bad for your actions? Have you ever understood a new truth? Or seen an old principle in new light? IF SO, then the Holy Spirit has been working inside you.

The Holy Spirit is the heartbeat of the Believer. He is the resurrection power that raised Christ (Rom 8:11)

Think about that. The Holy Spirit has probably already helped you out; you just did not realize it. `

I want to be obedient to the Spirit, so I want us to all think about these Questions.
1) Are you feeling bad about something right now?
2) Is the Holy Spirit trying to teach you something right now?
3) DO you know Jesus; is the Holy Spirit convicting you to accept Jesus into your heart?

Don’t grieve the Spirit, respond to Him and you will not regret it.

God Bless,
Dan Fogarty.

Leave a Reply

