Have you seen the Lord?

Posted: February 10, 2012 in Forgiveness, Grace, Harvest Youth

This is not a trick question, and there are no wrong answers I swear, and I do not think any less of you if you answer either way.

Who here thinks they are wicked?

Who thinks they have seen God?

Some of us say we are Christians, but we don’t live like one.

I said it last week, do you think that God leaves you when you walk out this door, or do you realize that the Lord truly sees everything.

I think that some of you have not seen the Lord, or you think you have, but you haven’t.

3 things happen when we see the Lord, as you will see in Isaiah 6

1) It exposes us
Isaiah 6:5 who is me… I am a man of unclean lips… and because my eyes have seen the Lord.

Do you know who Isaiah is?

He was regarded as a prophet, made multiple prophesies about the coming of Jesus Christ, and was a Godly man, yet when he saw the Lord, he knew he was ruined.

Why would a prophet say that he is a man of unclean lips? I mean who is righteous if not the prophet of the Lord.

Unclean lips means ethically unclean, which if you look up wicked in the dictionary, that’s what it says.

In the Old Testament, the Lord did not speak directly to anyone, except the prophet.

So the only guy that God is talking to knows he is wicked, yet when I ask teenagers if they think they are wicked they usually say no… strange.

WHEN WE SEE THE LORD, IT EXPOSES US.

We see how sinful we are, we don’t try to justify our wicked actions and thoughts.

When we see Him, we know we are sinful… We know when we see the Lord.

2) It exposes our culture
Isaiah 6:5 I Live among a people of unclean lips

How often do you try to justify hanging out with the wrong crowd? Are you trying to justify it now?

Do you have friends that constantly bring you down, yet you still hang out with them and they do not change?

Do you bring your friends up, or do they bring you down?

James 4:4 whoever desires to be a friend of the world has become an enemy of God.

I’m not saying you can’t have a friend who is not a Christian, but eventually if they are not willing to let you live the life you are trying to live, and they constantly are trying to get you to sin, then you have a choice to make.

3) It turns us into world changers
Isaiah 6:8 God says, “who shall I send?” Isaiah says, “Here I am send me.”

HOW CAN WE CHANGE THE WORLD IF WE DON’T KNOW THE WORD?!?!?!

John 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

Psalm 40:7 See I have come in the volume of the book

Psalm 42:2 I thirst for God, the living God. When can I come and appear before God?

When we truly see God, we see that we are evil, that our friends are doomed, and that we have to do something.

Be a world changer.

Let this be the theme for your year and your life.

Here I am, send me –Isaiah 6:8

God bless,
Dan Fogarty.

Leave a Reply

