Are you Closed-Minded?

Posted: January 26, 2012 in and I'm a Mormon?, Harvest Youth, Jehovah Witness, Norfolk Adventures

Some people say that Christians are SO stubborn in their ways. How could they possibly only believe in the Bible, and how could Jesus be the ONLY way to Heaven… they are so closed-minded.

However, the ones who say statements like these are being closed-minded.

You see, everyone has a belief system that defines them.

A Muslim, for example, believes that they have to pray 5 times a day during Ramadan. I don’t see many people going up to them and telling them to stop.

In fact I once had a job where my boss was a Muslim, and in the month of Ramadan I outsold him 3-1, and they gave me his job. Of course, he was allowed to pray… AT WORK 5 times a day, but when they found out I read a Bible between making phone calls, they asked me to get ride of it.

Many Muslim’s also believes in Shuria Law, which allows women to be killed if they marry a non-Muslim… Isn’t that a little closed minded?

I don’t see Christians killing each other over affairs and divorces…

Jehovah’s Witnesses are VERY closed minded.

I had a JW coming to my house 3 times, and he told me that everything I had to say did not matter, because I was not part of their so called ‘anointed’ and I was lost.

They cannot even think for themselves, someone else tells them how to read the Bible, pray, ext.

In fact they are so closed-minded, that they will SHUN the unbeliever. Even if it’s there own kid, they may kick them out of the house if they do not believe in Jehovah God.

Mormons believe that you have to accept Joseph Smith as the last prophet, or there is no way to enter Heaven… now we Christians know that we have to accept Jesus Christ, but who is this Smith character…

Catholics have a list of rules and regulations they have to abide by. They also believe in Purgatory, praying for the dead, a man is the head of the church i.e. the pope, and so on.

Seventh day Adventists believe you must worship on a Saturday, because that is the Sabbath.

Atheists have a belief system friends… they believe in nothing.

Of course, if you are an atheist, and there really is nothing before or after your life, and God does not love us because there is no God, then how can we have any value at all?

In the Atheist system, we have no self worth, we have to borrow principles from the Bible as an atheist to give ourselves any worth at all. If no one made you, why should anyone love you? You are a random chance, and then you’ll be gone. There’s no self worth in that.

My point is this; everyone is somewhat closed-minded. Here’s the definition.

close-minded – not ready to receive to new ideas

My second point is this; if you believe the truth and know the truth, it’s OK to be closed minded be definition.

What do I mean. John 14:6 say’s. “I am the way the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

Now the definition says that you are not ready to receive a new idea… and I’m not!

Jesus said He was the way.

Jesus said He was the truth.

Jesus said He was the life!

If Jesus is God, then I have to believe Him.

See friends, you have three choices when it comes to Jesus.

He is your Lord (or someone else’s Lord), a liar, or a crazy person.
How can I say that? Well he said he is the only way to Heaven right? SO he is either telling the truth, or he is a liar, or he is nuts!

I’m gonna talk about that more in a future sermon, but remember, He’s not a moral teacher if He’s a liar. He’s either Lord, or not. Good, or Evil.

If you believe that somehow you or anyone else can receive the gift of eternal life without knowing LIFE (Jesus) then you are mistaken. Jesus does not give that option; it is not open to you, or anyone.

Please take this with you; it is OK to believe in the truth.

You don’t have to ponder if Jesus is Lord, He is.

You don’t have to ponder if other religions are right, there not.

You don’t have to ponder if Atheists are correct, there not.

John 8:31-32
Jesus said, “If you continue in My word, you really are My disciples.
You will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

John 18:37-38
You are a king then?” Pilate asked.


“You say that I’m a king,” Jesus replied. “I was born for this, and I have come into the
world for this: to testify to the truth. Everyone who is of the truth listens to My voice.”

“What is truth?” said Pilate.

Jesus is the truth.

God Bless,
Dan Fogarty.

Leave a Reply

