The ONE true Faith? part 1: was Jesus created?

Posted: December 2, 2011 in Apologetics, Jehovah Witness, the ONE true faith?, Truth, WHAT?

Jehovah Witnesses will tell you they are the one true faith, and that every other church in the world is part of “Babylon the Great”. this series will discuss some of their flaws and false doctrines. I pray you are encouraged and equipped for the next time you meet a Jehovah’s Witness, and you can use the tools I will give you to witness to them.

Was Jesus created by God???

Isaiah 43:10-13 says,
“You are my witnesses,” declares the Lord, “and my servant whom I have chosen, that you may know and believe me and understand that I am he. Before me no god was formed, nor shall there be any after me. I, I am the Lord, and besides me there is no savior. I declared and saved and proclaimed, when there was no strange god among you; and you are my witnesses,” declares the Lord, “and I am God (English Standard Version, Is. 43.10-13).

JW’s teach that God created Jesus Christ. They pervert Revelations 3:14, Colossians 1:15 and 2 Corinthians 5:21. All of these verses (if read out of context and not properly studied) can confuse or even convince the reader that Jesus Christ was a created being. However, if that were true, that would contradict the whole Bible, making the Holy Scriptures void. It would also make God out to be a liar.
Take the verse Is 43:10-13. God said that no other god was ever formed, and that no other god would be formed (Is. 43.10-13).

He also says that there is no Savior, period, besides Him (Is. 43.10-13).

Jesus Christ is taught to be the savior by the Watchtower Society.

If He is the savior, then He has to be God (not a created spirit being, or Michael the archangel).

Otherwise, God is a liar, or Jesus is a liar, (for He called Himself God) or the Bible is the liar…

Before you show a JW this scripture, ask a few questions. Ask him or her if they believe Jesus is the Savior. Then ask if they think He lived a perfect life. Then, ask if they think God can or has ever told a lie or made a false statement. If they say yes to the first two and no to the third question, then you have just set up your defense based on their own answers. Believe me, it’s not about “setting them up”, but you have to understand that these JW’s are so convinced and brainwashed that it is almost impossible to reach them. Unless by their own admission they are wrong, they will never believe that your translations of the scriptures are correct. Even if they are wrong by there own admission, they will make some sort of story up about why they said what they said.

Without much prayer for intersession and a carefully thought out game plan using their own testimony against them, you will never get through to them. Please don’t tell me in some reply that I need more faith to reach them if you have never tried. If you have tried, you know what I mean. I have had 3 hour long debates with two JW’s, and they are anything but fun.

I have read and studied the Hebrew words in this passage and this is without a doubt a good translation to English. In Hebrew the sentence, “I am he. Before me no god was formed, nor shall there be any after me,” reads, “Paniym-‘el-yatsar-achar” (Is. 43.10-13). The Hebrew word Paniym means in my presence, in front of me or in front of. ‘El means god or God. Yatsar means to form, fashion or frame. Yatsar can also referring to creation in this sense. Achar means before, after or afterwards (referring to time and space). So to summarize, the verse could easily read like this: in My presence never have I formed, fashioned, framed or created in any way, a god of any kind, nor will I in the past, present of future. This is like placing a giant elephant in the room. Even a devote JW, with no intension of leaving his faith will have to absolutely dance around this question, because there is only one answer; Jesus Christ has always been, always was, and always will be. Either that or God is a liar. However, even when I have presented this scripture in the past, they literally could care less. They are convinced that the world is deceived by the Devil.

Pray for their eyes to be opened to the scripture, and that the real GOD would reveal Himself to them.

Pray that their hard hearts are softened.

I’ll be sharing more on the faith of Jehovah’s witnesses soon.
God bless.
Dan Fogarty.

Comments
  1. Kim Forte says:

    Whenever someone uses a scripture out of context to try and prove a point, I always go to the context of the scripture to get the full idea. Anybody get take something out of context and twist it to mean what they are trying to argue. So I went to 2 Corinthians 5:21, and when you read it, it says “God made him who had no sin to be sin for us”. And basically it comes down to how people read into things. I assume that they take that as “God made him”. But what I get from that scripture is that God made him sin, not solely him, as in created. He became sin to set us free. He wasn’t created, he was turned into sin for us.

    I’ve had my own encounter with a Jehovah witness that told me people that didn’t become Jehovah’s witness were just unwilling to give up their sinful lives. I can tell that speaking to a JW is something that I will have to better prepare myself for because the discussion became heated because I fight hard for what I believe in, but the bible says we aren’t suppose to get angry especially when the gospel is involved. I look forward to your posts to come. 🙂

    • Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Yes they do use that verse and a few others to say that He (Jesus) was created, however as you have said, that is not at all what that verse means. I’ll be sharing a few more verses from the greek on the next post 🙂

  2. Ruth Gjukich says:

    Good article Dan. I look forward to more on this subject. I have never personally tried witnessing to a JW but know some who have and they will agree with you totally. You can have all the faith in the world but unless they are willing to let the Holy Spirit take their blinders off, they don’t see it. However, I believe ALL things are possible through God so I am going to continue to pray for Aaron and his dad to come to know Jesus who is the truth. Always was and always will be!

Leave a Reply

