Thur Recap 6/8/2011 James 1:5-8 Wisdom Part 1

Posted: June 9, 2011 in Army, Harvest Military

-Sometimes as Christians we are faced with a challenge or a question to our faith.
I know a professing Christian who was a pastor of a church that questioned the Bibles authenticity, believe it or not.
He wanted to know why only certain books were in any why certain books were not in.

-Let me tell you right now, the Bible is authentic.
Thre New Testament was set in stone by 250 AD with the Moratorium Cannon, and the Old Testament was set well before 95 AD with the evidence of the counsel of Jamnia, he still questioned why the book of Peter’s revelation was not in the cannon, or perhaps the book of Herod.

-At some point in your life and mine, we are going to need wisdom that we do not have.
Whether it is to make a decision on a financial issue, guidance in a family crisis, health issues, Ext.

-For instance, I have a bed Neck, Knees and Stomach issues. I used to pray for complete healing, but now I do not. Why you might ask… (somebody ask why now)
I came to the conclusion, which I believe to be God’s conclusion, that these injuries are to prevent me from staying in the Army, and so I can no longer kickbox, because God wanted me to do something else.
I at one point prayed for wisdom in these issues, and I believe God gave it to me.
Now, I just don’t eat certain things, don’t work out like a maniac, and I cannot run long distances, but I feel that if God does one day want to heal my body, He will.

-I lacked wisdom in these areas… so I turned to the scriptures for help

James 1:5-8 ESV reads,
“5 If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.6 But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea that is driven and tossed by the wind.7 For that person must not suppose that he will receive anything from the Lord;8 he is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways.”

-When we ask for wisdom, God does not get mad or upset.
He does not call us names or say we are dumb (even if we are)!
He gives it to us, without reproach.

The Greek word for Generously haplos (ha-plos) SAY IT WITH ME…
Meaning: simply, openly, frankly, sincerely

-Man, that is good news.
He gives it to us simple, because sometimes I get confused!

-BUT!!! And this is a big but, we have to believe in faith that God is going to give us the answer!

Have you ever asked something of God and thought He probably is not going to answer?

Odds are your right, because you asked with a doubting heart.

-Now, I want to show you that you have great faith already.
You have already exercised so much faith trusting in the risen Lord. You have.
We cannot see Him, all of the eyewitnesses are long gone… you already have faith.
I’ve been in youth ministry where kids would say that they had no faith, and I would tell them no, you are already exercising faith by believing in the unseen Savior.
Some people will not believe until they see a sign (which all of creation is a sign, but they have turned aside from that) they cannot have faith in what they do not see.

Heb 11:1
Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.
Paul goes on to say, “for who hopes for what he sees!”

This is as far as we got. I will share the rest next week, as I wrote much more, but we had some great conversations. Come join us on Wednesday nights at 7pm. God Bless.

Leave a Reply

