Thur Recap 6/1/2011 Storms?

Posted: June 2, 2011 in Army, Harvest Military, Norfolk Adventures

What do you do during the storm?

John 6:16-21 ESV
16 When evening came, his disciples went down to the sea,17 got into a boat, and started across the sea to Capernaum. It was now dark, and Jesus had not yet come to them.18 The sea became rough because a strong wind was blowing.19 When they had rowed about three or four miles, they saw Jesus walking on the sea and coming near the boat, and they were frightened.20 But he said to them, “It is I; do not be afraid.”21 Then they were glad to take him into the boat, and immediately the boat was at the land to which they were going.

Matt 8:23-27
23 And when he got into the boat, his disciples followed him.24 And behold, there arose a great storm on the sea, so that the boat was being swamped by the waves; but he was asleep.25 And they went and woke him, saying, “Save us, Lord; we are perishing.”26 And he said to them, “Why are you afraid, O you of little faith?” Then he rose and rebuked the winds and the sea, and there was a great calm.27 And the men marveled, saying, “What sort of man is this, that even winds and sea obey him?”

-Let me tell you, I am in the middle of a huge storm right now.

-We moved here on faith that this is where God wanted us and I know we were right, but it hasn’t been easy and allot of things have happened along the way.
We are definitely going through a storm

Storm 1
-My mother, who was already in failing health when I left, had to have surgery where they removed part of her lung and a huge mass, she is still on a ventilator and cannot speak very much.
I was suppose to be able to visit her, but the Army kept me very long and I did not get a chance to leave and go see her.
When I call, she can barely talk, and she has to go to rehab next.
Storm 2
-My little brother had three seizers or passed out three times (docs are looking into it) about a week ago and had to go to the hospital for the first time in his life!
He cannot drive for 6 months, and I have no idea how he will get to work.
Storm 3
-On the only thing close to a vacation me and Crystal have had in a year, a freak accident happened where she got a que tip jammed way into her ear. I immediately started praying, we are pretty sure God took care of it because there seems to be damage, but it was still a huge scare.
Storm 4
-On top of that, the great job I had lined up along with all of the plans I had to go back to MI have all been shifted, there is a possibility I will have to go back a time or two more that I was suppose to, I will lose money and not be able to take on a full time job until the end of September.
Honestly I will probably deliver the paper over the summer because no job will want to hire me with the time I will have to take off for military events and Church. So, we are in a financial crisis and if we miss a paycheck, we will be in huge trouble.

So, there are some storms in my life, but thank God He walks through them with me, and I knew they would come, because the Bible told me!

James 1:2-4 HCSB
2 Consider it a great joy, my brothers, whenever you experience various trials, 3 knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance.4 But endurance must do its complete work, so that you may be mature and complete, lacking nothing.

-Who likes trials raise your hand!?!?!?!

-I know I do not like them, but they are good for me.
Pastor Craig says you cannot have a testimony without a test.
The more we go through as Christians, the more endurance we have to get through the next time.

Does anyone have a time they went through something (a storm) that strengthened their faith, and by the end they were actually glad they went through it?

-Charles Spurgeon wrote
Untested faith may be true faith, but it is sure to be small faith, and it is likely to remain little as long as it is without trials. Faith never prospers so well as when all things are against her: Tempests are her trainers, and bolts of lightning are her illuminators.
Tested faith brings experience. You could not have believed your own weakness if you had not been compelled to pass through the rivers; and you would never have known God’s strength if you had not been supported
in the flood. Faith increases in quality, assurance, and intensity the more it is exercised with tribulation.
Faith is precious, and its trial is precious too.

-I try to find someone who is smarter than me when I’m trying to drive a point home.

-Remember, God will see you through the trial you are facing also, he will never give you more than you can handle

1 Pet 1:6-7
6 In this you rejoice, though now for a little while, if necessary, you have been grieved by various trials,7 so that the tested genuineness of your faith—more precious than gold that perishes though it is tested by fire—may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ.
1 Cor 10:13
13 No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to humanity. God is faithful, and He will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation He will also provide a way of escape so that you are able to bear it.

-Think about if the disciples had never went through those storms where Jesus actually came to save them.
They would not have a sweet testimony first off, but notice that Jesus comes and bails them out!

-Whenever I hear someone say that they could not help but do X, I know they have not fully understood God’s Word.
He said that he will always provide a way of escape, He said so!
Sometimes we do not take the route of escape, and then we make a mistake (sin) against God.

Where do temptations come from?

James 1:13-15
13 Let no one say when he is tempted, “I am being tempted by God,” for God cannot be tempted with evil, and he himself tempts no one.14 But each person is tempted when he is lured and enticed by his own desire.15 Then desire when it has conceived gives birth to sin, and sin when it is fully grown brings forth death.

-God does not put you in the situation where you might sin against Him, we do!
It is our own sinful desires, that want it easy that want the storm to be over before we can really benefit from it.

-One time in Iraq, I was really wishing I could be home.
I had about a week left, and we were growing impatient.
I was relaxed, so relaxed I had no military bearing and decided to walk to the bunker when I should have ran.
A mortar hit right in front of me, so close that either the heat or the shrapnel burned allot of my hair off.
Man I tell you, I would not give that experience for the world.
If God had pulled me out of that storm (Iraq) before I was ready, I would not have had another story in my book, another testimony to talk about with you.

-His timing is perfect.
If you think you cannot go on, you can.
He won’t put you out there for the Devil, in due time, He will come to the rescue in your storm.

1 Pet 5:6-10
Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you,7 casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.8 Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.9 Resist him, firm in your faith, knowing that the same kinds of suffering are being experienced by your brotherhood throughout the world.10 And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.

-He will keep you, because He paid for you with a price.
1 Cor 7:23 NLT
God paid a high price for you, so don’t be enslaved by the world.

Leave a Reply

