Harvest Military Recap from 4/27/2011

Posted: April 28, 2011 in Army, Harvest Military, Norfolk Adventures

Here is the first Thursday Recap from the Wednesday night Military group at Harvest Central. Every week we meet at Harvest at 7pm. If you are in the Hampton Roads area check us out. These are the notes from April 27th.

Matt 5:41-42
And if anyone forces you to go one mile, go with him two miles. Give to the one who begs from you, and do not refuse the one who would borrow from you.

Roman soldiers had certain right in the Old Testament. One of those rights was that they could walk up to anyone and make them carry their armor a whole mile. Jesus said we should carry that armor two miles.

Sometimes we should go that mile, and we do not. We should do more than demanded, and we should be happy about it (Live Loved, Max Lucado).

Phil 3:13-14
Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

Florence Chadwick attempted to swim from Catalina Island to the California Shore. She made it a long way, but she got really tired. She was swimming through a deep fog. She did end up quitting and jumping on the boat. When she got in the boat they broke through the fog and she realized that she was less than a half a mile away from the shore. She gave up because she could not see the end, even though she was almost there.

Sometimes we give up just before the win. I know I want to win! Lets keep pressing on toward the prize.

Reap what you have not sown

When I think about this opportunity, I think about this verse.
John 4:35-38 ESV
Jesus, “Do you not say, ‘Four months more and then the harvest’? I tell you, open your eyes and look at the fields! They are ripe for harvest. Even now the reaper draws his wages, even now he harvests the crop for eternal life, so that the sower and the reaper may be glad together. Thus the saying ‘One sows and another reaps’ is true. I sent you to reap what you have not worked for. Others have done the hard work, and you have reaped the benefits of their labor.”

-Brian and Joel have done the hard work, that is find a core of people who are hungry for God every week. I am reaping the benefits because I do not have to go find people to preach to.

-I also think about the part where Jesus says the harvest is ripe. I mean this is a 400+ member church that is made up of 80% military, and we have a 15 person group. That is a ripe harvest! There is allot of potential for growth there, and I think we could do it.

-Not to say that I am all about numbers at all, but I am about souls! If there is a chance to effect more souls, than we should take it.

-This is a great group. I mean people pour out there souls in here. I think this is going to be allot of fun for me, and for you.

-Honestly, my goal is to get as many military people connected, without losing the personal connection we have now. I would like to get so many people that we have to do a Saturday night service just for the military people once a month or more! How awesome would that be right?

-But, growth in numbers, does not always equal spiritual growth, so as long as it takes to get more people is as long as it takes. You cannot fix others if you need to be fixed.

-I think of a story that a famous pastor tells.
On a plain they tell you to put your own mask on first in case of an accident. The reason why you have to put your own mask on first is because if you don’t you will run out of oxigien and will be more of a hindrance than a help.

-Its like Jesus puts it.
Matt 7:3-4
Jesus, “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye?”

-We will grow when we are ready. It looks like we are though, everyone seems to have a good grip on Jesus here so I am pumped!

-I want to open the Word up when we meet, dig in there and get down to the heart of some issues that people do not feel comfortable talking about elsewhere.

-this is a safe place where we can say or do anything without judgment, so if you wanna pour out your heart be my guest.

-also, I know that people do not follow those they do not know or trust, so here is my card with all of my contact info on it. Email me, add me on facebook, follow me on twitter, subscribe to my blog, whatever you want to do I am here for you! Reading my blog will give you an idea of the kind of person I am and what I am up to.

We also talked about John Macarthers book titled Found; God’s will. We talked about being in God’s will and how it is not a person or place. I know that is hard to understand, but the closer you are to God the more He will birth ideas and thought into you. You’ll know the will of God when you are walking close to Him.

Thank you for checking this out and God bless you. Maybe I’ll see YOU next week at Harvest.

Leave a Reply

