Jesus Prepares a Place for us, John 14:1-4, 27

Posted: April 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

John 14:1-4,27 NIV
Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going…. Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Coming close to the end of His life Jesus tells his disciples of the place He is going (Heaven) and that He is preparing their rooms as well. Are you crammed into a small tent, or sleeping 3 to bunk in a tight submarine? Do you have almost no personal space at all? I remember when I was in Iraq we went from 2 man rooms with plenty of space to an open bay. All the personal space I had was above my wall locker (we had bunk beds), half of under the bed and a small wall locker. I had to fit all of my belongings in those 3 places. That included all of my gear and personal stuff. What a relief to know that one-day Jesus will give me a place where I’ll have plenty of room! Of course we do not take personal items with us out of this world, but I am talking about not being crammed into a sardine can that smells like a foot. One day, He will give us all an inheritance that is totally worth the ridicule we face here on this earth.

Jesus, “My peace I give to you…. do not be afraid.”
Jesus is always with us. No matter how alone you feel, no matter how crammed your living situation is, His peace can be upon you if you let it. His love can overshadow you, His grace will abound and His mercy endures through the ages. What a crazy time in your life this must be. Did you ever think you would be in the service preaching or hearing about Christ? With a nation taking steps away from God, you are taking steps toward God. You choose to teach or to be taught here and now. How awesome is that.

Think about the place Jesus is preparing for you. Don’t you think it will be way better than where you are at now? That is a hope you can hold on to for the whole deployment. I wish someone had told me about the place Jesus was making for me while I was overseas.

Maybe you are in a war zone and you fear for your life. You don’t have to fear at all if you belong to Jesus. He loves you and He will look after you. He wants you to go to the place He is creating for you, the place He was creating for you before you were even born. Wouldn’t you like to be in a better place, and know you were going to a better place instead of hoping on a prayer that somehow you were “good” enough? Trust in Jesus, give your life to Him and let Him change you. He is making a place for you.

What do you think will be in that place? Leave a comment and let me know 🙂

Leave a Reply

