long car ride tips :)

Posted: March 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

Today I had to leave my awesome wife and my kitty and puppy to go back to Michigan! I came back to do some military stuff, work stuff and to pick up the things we left in Michigan. I love it here, but it is no longer my home.

Its nice to came back and see my friends, but I really cannot wait to get back to start working on a future project for soldiers and service members of all ages. Its a project I have been dreaming of the whole car ride and I will hopefully roll out with it by the end of the summer.

When your on a long car ride, I like to break up the time into sections, here is what I do

3 hours = 1 section
12 hours = 4 sections

Have a plan for each section, something like this will work

section 1 Listen to podcasts
I listened to Chilly Chilton and Mark Driscoll for the begging of the trip and the hours flew by.
section 2 Make phone calls
Try to think of a few people who you really need to catch up with… I called AaronG and a few other people( theomniband.com )
section 3 Listen to music
Pick a few albums that are really good and listen to them in their entirety… you could also make a play list, but at the end of every album you know you are that much closer, which helps to break up the time even more
section 4 Take several rest stops
The last hours are very restless!!! you have been sitting in a car for a long time and really just want to stretch your legs… taking a few stops helps to break up the restless hours prior to arrival.

And thats all the tips I have, what do you do to pass the time? let me know 🙂

God bless you,
Dan

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    I live this post! Very practical. Great stuff to avoid wasting the trip – sounds like you end up refreshing yourself a lot this way.

    One thing I do is stretches. Every time I stop, I do a series if awkward and slow stretches (just taught them to my kids last night!) These really wake me up and get my circulation going again.

    Welcome back to MI. Hope I see you while you’re here!

  2. Jo Lord says:

    The site looks great Dan! Good post too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

