Put Those Pants On!

Posted: March 22, 2011 in Book Reviews, Salvation, WHAT?

The Gift p.11 Love Wins

Rob Bell says that if you have to do something it is not a gift.  So Salvation is not a gift if we have to do something and somehow someway we are all just magically going to end up in heaven because it cannot be a gift if we have to do something.

Ok, I would like to pose a scenario.  Have you ever tried to give someone something and they refused it?  Yes right?  That is an action.  Have you ever given someone something and they took it and did nothing with it?  That is an action.  Have you ever given someone something and saw him or her use it all the time?  Either way you look at a gift you can do three things with it.  Accept it, refuse it, or take it and do nothing with it.  Those are all actions.  So we see that gift is free but action of some sort is still required.  If you give me pants and I say thank you but walk out the door without them on then I did not take the action to put the pants on right?  If something is wrapped you must open it right?  I can’t just cover my unflattering parts with the box that has pants in it and say that I’m wearing them can I?  No.  I take them out of the box and I put them on.  When Christ is offered, it is one action that accepts the gift.  Whether it is verbal or physical, we do something to accept the gift, usually in the form of prayer.  Salvation is still a gift, you just have to unwrap it and put it on.

Leave a Reply

