I’ll do it

Posted: March 22, 2011 in Norfolk Adventures

When I was not a Christian, I had a few people in my life who were so obedient to God.  Tom, Mike and Francy would always be calling me, praying for me and just showing me the love of Christ.  I thought that these guys were a little nuts you know, cuz I liked to party allot and didn’t see what this whole Christianity thing was about.  But, Tom and the others continued to pray that I would leave my old ways and except Christ.

One day, Tom said in prayer that, “he (meaning me) is never going to change.”  Tom said that he doubted God, and almost forgot what God could do.  Well, obviously Tom continued to pray for me, even though I showed no signs of Christian life.  The rest is history, I accepted Christ and now I’m going to help plant a church in Norfolk, VA.

Tom did not really believe that I would come around, but he was still obedient to the Lord… and that’s what I am going to talk about today.

So, the title of this message is: I’ll do it

With a subtitle: If it makes no sense, it probably makes sense

With a subtitled subtitle… j/k

Point 1: God makes no sense

Luke 5:1-11 Peter makes the big catch MSG

Once when he was standing on the shore of Lake Gennesaret, the crowd was pushing in on him (Jesus) to better hear the Word of God….He climbed into the boat that was Simon’s and asked him to put out a little from the shore…using the boat for a pulpit, he taught the crowd… When he finished teaching, he said to Simon, “Push out into deep water and let your nets out for a catch.” Simon said, “Master, we’ve been fishing hard all night and haven’t caught even a minnow. But if you say so, I’ll let out the nets.” It was no sooner said than done—a huge haul of fish, straining the nets past capacity. They waved to their partners in the other boat to come help them. They filled both boats, nearly swamping them with the catch.

·      Simon knew it made no sense to let the nest out, he had been there and caught nothing all day, but he still lisented to Jesus, and it all worked out. 

1 Sam 17:32-33  David and Goliath NLT

“Don’t worry about this Philistine,” David told Saul. “I’ll go fight him!”

“Don’t be ridiculous!” Saul replied. “There’s no way you can fight this Philistine and possibly win! You’re only a boy, and he’s been a man of war since his youth.”…

1 Sam 17:45-47 David replied to the Philistine, “You come to me with sword, spear, and javelin, but I come to you in the name of the Lord of Heaven’s Armies—the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. Today the Lord will conquer you, and I will kill you and cut off your head. And then I will give the dead bodies of your men to the birds and wild animals, and the whole world will know that there is a God in Israel! And everyone assembled here will know that the Lord rescues his people, but not with sword and spear. This is the Lord’s battle, and he will give you to us!”

·      Saul knew it was ridiculous to send David, an untrained soldier to fight the Giant.

·      A lot of people may not realize that David was not a 6 year old.  He was most likely a military aged man who had no prior military training, was probably not that big, but knew how to sling a stone.

·      The history channel did a story on this and they say that a rock could be slung close to speed of a fastball pitched by a professional.  Close to 95MPH.

·      Even thought David knows he can sling the stone, he says to the philistine, “I come to you in the name of the Lord of Heaven’s Armies, Today the Lord will conquer you.”

Ex 14:16-   Moses Parts the red sea ESV

16 Lift up your staff, and stretch out your hand over the sea and divide it, that the people of Israel may go through the sea on dry ground.  21 Then Moses stretched out his hand over the sea, and the Lord drove the sea back by a strong east wind all night and made the sea dry land, and the waters were divided.22 And the people of Israel went into the midst of the sea on dry ground, the waters being a wall to them on their right hand and on their left.

·      Nothing like this had been done before, yet Moses believed, and once again God did the impossible thing that made no sense at the time.

-And that is where Crystal and me are at; God doing impossible things that make no sense, and us believing Him.

-I was on my way back from moving T.J. and Jess to Norfolk when I heard the lyrics of a song that made me realize that despite the things that I thought were keeping me in MI, God can do whatever He wants and it will not always make sense.

THE SONG is by Flame of course cuz I am such a gangsta…

Now picture the setting, I’m ridding back from Virginia, wondering how I can move there sooner to start our church quicker and to start making relationships, when God blows my mind in these lyrics.

Flame Power from Captured

I like to read/And see what He’s done in the past
He can do in the present/If His people would ask…..

What is a light bill/Or a deadly disease
What is a marriage problem/Or one that’s on the rocks
To the One who speaks to storms/And storms stop
To the One who got Lazarus outta the grave/Not after one, but two, three, four days
He is the Life/And the Resurrection
You give Him your filth/And get His perfection

-I know sometimes its hard to believe in God when you have a situation that requires a large amount of faith, but that is when we become truly confident that God can do anything.

Point 2: Obedience is everything

Qoutes

·      Untested faith may be true faith, but it is sure to be small faith, and it is likely to remain little as long as it is without trials. –Charles Spurgen

·      “once you are called, (by God) financial security, location, notoriety, applause, and power become increasingly less important. Obedience becomes the primary issue.” – Gordon Macdonald

-Friends, you could be where you are for the next week or your whole life, but you have to be obedient to God when He tells you to move.

-Anything less than total 100% obedience to God is just robbing yourself of a blessing that God wants to give you

-Chilly Chilton (Church planter for the AG) upon moving to Hamtramck MI has said many times that all of his friends were like, “see ya.”

-The whole thing made no sense.

·      Why would you take your kids to an unsafe neighborhood?

·      Why would you think your church could last when the last ones failed?

·      Do you even know anyone in Hamtramck?

I’m sure the list goes on… the point is it made no sense, but He was obedient.

-Peter obeyed with the net and the fish

-Moses obeyed when he split the red sea

-Jesus obeyed when He went to the cross!

Luke 22:41-42 ESV

And he withdrew from them about a stone’s throw, and knelt down and prayed, saying, “Father, if you are willing, remove this cup from me.

Nevertheless, not my will, but yours, be done.”

-Jesus asked God, God said it had to be done, so the Son submitted to the Father.

-Jesus provides us with a perfect example of obedience…

-Go to earth, live a human life, die on a cross, rise in 3 days…and then you can sit at the right hand of the Father.

-Jesus obeyed, He listened to the Father and received the award.

Point 3: Not Obeying =Misery

Jonah 1:1-3 NLT

The Lord gave this message to Jonah son of Amittai: 2 “Get up and go to the great city of Nineveh. Announce my judgment against it because I have seen how wicked its people are.” 3 But Jonah got up and went in the opposite direction to get away from the Lord. He went down to the port of Joppa, where he found a ship leaving for Tarshish. He bought a ticket and went on board, hoping to escape from the Lord by sailing to Tarshish.

Jonah 1:17 NLT

17 Now the Lord had arranged for a great fish to swallow Jonah. And Jonah was inside the fish for three days and three nights.

·      Jonah was miserable because he refused to listen to the Lord.

Point 4: Obedience does not mean that you are 100% confident all the time

1 Tim 2:13 HCSB

if we are faithless, He remains faithful, for He cannot deny Himself.

-Many times in the past month I have had several doubts in my mind, lack of sleep, total anxiety… allot of worry…BUT

-like Netta says all the time, you cannot stop a bird from landing on your head,  but you can stop him from making a nest

-we can choose to obey, even when it makes no sense, even when we are in doubt, even when it seems like nothing can go right.

-Its like that Flame song says,

What is a light bill/Or a deadly disease,
What is a marriage problem/Or one that’s on the rocks,
To the One who speaks to storms/And storms stop

Just because you have a hard time understanding or even believing God, that does not mean you are not obeying.

-Peter said, “this makes no sense, but I’ll do it.”

-I’ll do it…. That’s all you have to say.  I don’t get it, but I’ll do it.

-If we will obey, God will do the rest.

-If you are not obeying in an area of your life, I challenge you to obey God, meet Him halfway.

-Whether its moving or staying, getting more involved, opening your home to a bible study, taking a new job, Tithing, praying, fasting…. Whatever it is, you know when you are not obeying.

-You do not have to be confident in yourself, be confident in the Lord.

-I’ll do it…

Leave a Reply

