100%Grace and truth

Posted: March 22, 2011 in Grace, Norfolk Adventures, Truth

We need to have 100% Grace and 100% truth in our lives –Steve Kelly head pastor of Wave Church in Virginia Beach Virginia

How true is that!  Have you ever meet someone who is so grace based that they ignore clear direction from scripture? Some say that since Jesus came we can do whatever we want… but scripture clearly says otherwise.  Paul when addressing the church in Galatia wrote,

”The acts of the flesh are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.” Gal 5:21-23 NIV

  • Sexual immorality would include anything other than kissing in a relationship that is not a marriage!
  • Idolatry covers anything you worship, like your TV, money, sex, cars, ext..
  • Honestly… not many people use witchcraft these days! Lol
  • Hatred, whoa!  You mean I can’t hate my boss who is an inconsiderate jerk?… nope! Nor can we hate anyone.  We have to forgive people and move on! This is not an option people
  • Discord means to disagree.  Now this does not mean that we cannot have our own opinions, but have you ever meet the Christian who knows the Bible so well he is annoying?  I mean the guy that’s always picking fights with people about the petty details… are you that guy?  Or do you like to start quarrels and arguments?  The Bible says you should not be doing those things.
  • Ever been jealous?  Is it a habitual thing where you are comparing yourself to others all of the time?  Not good.
  • Do you blow up allot?  Sometimes this is me… I have a hard time keeping my emotions in check sometimes, I need the blood of Christ!
  • Are you selfish?  Is it to the point that you are effecting those around you constantly?  That’s a no no to!
  • Do you envy others?  Are you one who compares yourself to those around you and wish you had what they have? Don’t do it… you do not know what’s in there head, they might be worse off than you!  I’ve had people in the Army say things like, “Man I wish I could do what you do…” I would like to say to those people that I do not have it all together.  For instance, sometimes I have nightmares of Iraq, sometimes I have a hard time focusing, I have been diagnosed with PDHD (I do not claim that), I have 2 bum knees and a bad neck…. And I do not have a firm grasp on my temperament all of the time… none of us have arrived, but we need to keep pressing on and not make sinning a habit or a GRACE thing!   I need enough grace without adding some on by disobeying God’s clear teaching.
  • Drunkenness! But I thought Jesus turned the water into wine and got allot of people drunk… no way!  Jesus would not sin, and did not sin… drunkenness in wrong, right?
  • Orgies, do we even have to talk about this one?

So, just from a few lines of scripture we can see that God does not want us to practice such things.  That does not mean that we will never slip up, that means you should not be practicing sin!  Grace is abundant with the Lord, but we do need to obey God’s teaching in the scripture in order to receive grace.  Paul says that he did the things he did not want to do, we all do, but we press on toward perfection knowing that we will not fully obtain it until we are called home with Jesus.

Here is some truth, not everyone who says, “Lord, Lord” will enter Gods kingdom.  It is the ones who do the will of God that will enter His rest (Matt 7:22).  Are you sinning in an area of your life that you know is wrong?  Do you want to know how to get out of it?  Stop doing it!!! Seriously, I know it sounds like a hard thing but you can do it!  God is faithful, and He will not allow you to be tempted farther than you can handle (1Cor 10:13).Trust in the Lord today while there is still time.

May you have 100% grace and 100% truth in your life.

Leave a Reply

